Skip to Main Content


By Rio Grande Valley Vipers Staff /March 16, 2023

Edinburg, Texas (March 9, 2023) – The Rio Grande Valley Vipers (14-12), the NBA G League affiliate of the Houston Rockets, defeated the Iowa Wolves (8-18) 128-117 on Thursday night at Bert Ogden Arena. 

The first quarter had no clear leader as both teams battled it out and had 10 lead changes. Despite the efforts of both teams to pull away with a lead, the game remained at a 35-35 draw. 

RGV led for the first few minutes of the second quarter, but that quickly changed as Iowa came from behind and tied the game 40-40 with 10:02 left on the clock. The quarter was tied two times after that before the Vipers pulled away with a 69-66 lead at the half. 

The Vipers took charge during the first four and a half minutes of the third quarter. After that, the game became tied two more times before Iowa could pull away with the lead for the remainder of the quarter. At the end of the third the Wolves led 99-94.

Iowa maintained the lead throughout the fourth quarter until the clock hit seven minutes and RGV came from behind to tie the game 109-109. The Vipers then hit the ground running and went on to score 19 points while only allowing Iowa to score eight points which put the Vipers over the top with a 128-117 victory. 

Jarrett Culver finished the night with 41 points. Houston Rockets Two-Way player Darius Days obtained a double-double with 28 points and 11 rebounds. Houston Rockets Two-Way player Trevor Hudgins contributed 18 points. Houston Rockets assignment TyTy Washington Jr. obtained a triple-double with 12 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists. Ray Spalding put up 10 points and Trhae Mitchell reached a double-double with 10 points and 10 rebounds. 

Craig Randall II paved the way for Iowa with 31 points. Minnesota Timberwolves Two-Way player Luka Garza contributed 29 points. Emmanuel Mudiay scored 25 points. Minnesota Timberwolves Two-Way player Matt Ryan finished the night with 12 points. 

RGV will take on the Wolves on Saturday, March 11 at 7:30 p.m. CT at Bert Ogden Arena. For more information visit